Basic information on cookies
A cookie is a small information file that is stored in your browser every time you visit our website.
Cookies are used to keep a log of your activities on our website, in order to identify you on future visits and configure the content based on your browsing habits, identity and preferences.
Users are free to delete, accept, block and delete cookies. This can be done using the options in this window or through the browser's settings, as appropriate.
The correct operation of the different functions of our website cannot be guaranteed if cookies are rejected.
See the "COOKIES POLICY" section on our website for further details.

Open Letter to Ayatollah Ali Khāmene’I Open Letter to Ayatollah Ali Khāmene’I

Mar 162011

Open Letter to Ayatollah Ali Khāmene’I

Open Letter to Ayatollah Ali Khāmene’I

“More than three weeks after the abduction of Mr. Mir Hossein Mousavi and Mr. Mehdi Karoubi, former Prime Minister and Parliament Speaker of Iran and prominent candidates to the presidential elections, together with their respective wives, their families are without news of their situation.

As no Iranian authorities appear to assume legal responsibility for these disappearances and serious threats have been levelled against them, we wish to express our concern about their fate. We draw your attention to the fact that these flagrant violations of the rule of law may discredit the institutions towards which you have the ultimate responsibility.

We urge you to restore to these people and their families the rights and legitimate protection granted to them by the legal principles recognized in the Law and the international obligations of your country”.

 The letter was signed by the following Members of the Club de Madrid:

  • Wim Kok, Prime Minister of the Netherlands (1994-2002) and President of the Club of Madrid
  • César Gaviria, President of Colombia (1990-1994) and Vice- President of the Club of Madrid
  • Abdul-Kareem Al Eryani, Prime Minister of Yemen (1980-1983 and 1998-2001)
  • Sadiq Al Mahdi, Prime Minister of Sudan (1966-1967 and 1986-1989)
  • Valdis Birkavs, Prime Minister of Latvia (1993-1994)
  • Kjell Magne Bondevik, Prime Minister of Norway (1997-2000 and 2001-2005)
  • Lionel Jospin, Prime Minister of France (1997-2002)
  • Chandrika Kumaratunga, President of Sri Lanka (1994-2005)
  • Cassam Uteem, President of Mauritius (1992-2002)



Related Members




WLA-CdM is committed to advancing democracy worldwide. With your
support, we can advance democratic values and foster social and political change.
You can help ensure a sustainable future for the next generations by joining our
efforts in a variety of ways. Here’s how you can make a difference.