Basic information on cookies
A cookie is a small information file that is stored in your browser every time you visit our website.
Cookies are used to keep a log of your activities on our website, in order to identify you on future visits and configure the content based on your browsing habits, identity and preferences.
Users are free to delete, accept, block and delete cookies. This can be done using the options in this window or through the browser's settings, as appropriate.
The correct operation of the different functions of our website cannot be guaranteed if cookies are rejected.
See the "COOKIES POLICY" section on our website for further details.

President Juan Manuel Santos awarded Nobel Peace Prize President Juan Manuel Santos awarded Nobel Peace Prize

Oct 072016

President Juan Manuel Santos awarded Nobel Peace Prize

President Juan Manuel Santos awarded Nobel Peace Prize

The committee’s decision was based on “his resolute efforts to bring the country’s more than 50 year long civil war to an end” and a peace deal signed with Farc rebels, but rejected by Colombians in a vote.

Juan Manuel Santos said that he dedicated the award to "all the victims of the conflict" and that he would devote all efforts to the objective of peace. The conflict in the country has caused more than 220.000 deaths, the displacement of more than six million and the disappearance of another 45.000. After four years of negotiations in Havana, with the mediation of Norway, the peace accord was signed in September and submitted to a national referendum on October 2nd.

“The award should also be seen as a tribute to the Colombian people who, despite great hardships and abuses, have not given up hope on a just peace, and to all the parties who have contributed to this peace process”, said the committee when presenting the award.

Club de Madrid would like to thank all the laureates of this prize for their contributions to global peace and thus to ‘democracy that delivers’, especially our Members José Manuel Ramos-Horta (former President of Timor-Leste), Oscar Arias (former President of Costa Rica), Martti Ahtisaari (former President of Finland), Mikhail Gorbachev (former President of the Soviet Union), Kofi Annan (former Secretary general of the UN), Aung San Suu Kyi (leader of Myanmar), and Jimmy Carter (former President of the USA), all Nobel Peace Laureates.

Related Members




WLA-CdM is committed to advancing democracy worldwide. With your
support, we can advance democratic values and foster social and political change.
You can help ensure a sustainable future for the next generations by joining our
efforts in a variety of ways. Here’s how you can make a difference.