Democracy That Delivers

The Shared Societies Project

Building a World Safe for Difference

Expert Advisory Panel


Genaro Arriagada
Deputy Chair of the Board of Trustees, Universidad de las Américas

Jóhanna Kristín Birnir
Centre for International Development and Conflict Management - Minorities at Risk Project, University of Maryland

Sean C. Carroll
Chief of Staff for USAID

William Easterly
Professor of Economics at New York University, joint with Africa House, and Co-Director of NYU’s Development Research Institute. Fellow of the Centre for Global Development

Mounira Fakhro
Associate Professor at the University of Bahrain

Mari Fitzduff
Professor and Director of the Master’s Program in Coexistence and Conflict at Brandeis College

Yash Pal Ghai
Professor Emeritus of Constitutional Law, Faculty of Law, University of Hong Kong

Ashraf Ghani
The Institute for State Effectiveness, Chairman

Ted Robert Gurr
Professor Emeritus, Center for International Development and Conflict Management, University of Maryland, Former Director of the Minorities at Risk Project

Fikria Harrouch
UNESCO Youth Forum 2005 Representative, The Netherlands

Steen L. Jorgensen
Director, Human Development Middle East and North Africa Region, The World Bank

Will Kymlicka
Canada Research Chair in Political Philosophy, Department of Philosophy, Queen’s University

Amin Maalouf
Writer, Lebanon/France

Clem McCartney
Shared Societies Project Content Coordinator

Sarifa Moola
Social Activist, South Africa

Ernesto Ottone
Director Catedra Globalización y Democracia, University Diego Portales, Chile. Former ECLAC Deputy Executive Secretary, Member of the Club de Madrid Advisory Committee

John Packer
Human Rights Centre, University of Essex

Bhikhu Parekh
Centennial Professor in the Centre for the Study of Global Governance at the London School of Economics

David L. Philips
Board of The Abraham Fund, Columbia University

Timothy Phillips
Co-Founder of the Project on Justice in Times of Transition, Harvard University

Ibrahim Rasool
Member of Parliament of South Africa and Founder of the World for All Foundation

Necla Tschirgi
Senior Researcher, Former Senior Policy Advisor/Consultant, UN Peacebuilding Support Office

Ashutosh Varshney
Visiting Professor of Political Science at Brown University

Sergei Zelenev
Interim Director UN-INSTRAW. Former Chief, UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Social Integration Branch

Daniel de Torres
International expert on diversity and multiculturalism policies

Club de Madrid
Palacio del Marqués de Cañete. Calle Mayor, 69, Planta 1, 28013 Madrid - Spain
Tel +34 911 548 230 Fax +34 911 548 240