Democracy That Delivers

Full Members

Full members are former Heads of State and Government from historically democratic countries or from countries that have undergone a process of democratic transition and consolidation since 1975 and whose incorporation is approved by an absolute majority of the General Assembly of the Club de Madrid. In addition, full membership may be granted to those former Heads of State and Government who participated in the Conference on Democratic Transition and Consolidation held in Madrid in October 2001 and who express their wish to join the organization, as well as those Heads of State and Government who participated in said Conference and are invited to join the Club de Madrid once their term in office has come to an end.


Rexhep  Meidani
President of the Republic of Albania (1997-2002)
Benjamin Mkapa
President of Tanzania (1995-2005)
Festus Mogae
President of Botswana (1998-2008)
Thabo Mvuyelwa Mbeki
President of the South Africa (1999-2008)
Carlos  Mesa
President of Bolivia (2003-2005)

Club de Madrid
Palacio del Marqués de Cañete. Calle Mayor, 69, Planta 1, 28013 Madrid - Spain
Tel +34 911 548 230 Fax +34 911 548 240