Democracy That Delivers

Full Members

Full members are former Heads of State and Government from historically democratic countries or from countries that have undergone a process of democratic transition and consolidation since 1975 and whose incorporation is approved by an absolute majority of the General Assembly of the Club de Madrid. In addition, full membership may be granted to those former Heads of State and Government who participated in the Conference on Democratic Transition and Consolidation held in Madrid in October 2001 and who express their wish to join the organization, as well as those Heads of State and Government who participated in said Conference and are invited to join the Club de Madrid once their term in office has come to an end.


César Gaviria
President of Colombia (1990-1994)
Felipe  González
President of the Spanish Government (1982-1996)
Mikhail  Gorbachev
President of the Soviet Union (1990-1991) • Nobel Peace Prize Laureate 1990
António  Guterres
Prime Minister of Portugal (1995-2001) and current UN Secretary General
Amine Pierre Gemayel
President of Lebanon (1982-1988)
Alfred Gusenbauer
Chancellor of Austria (2007-2008)

Club de Madrid
Palacio del Marqués de Cañete. Calle Mayor, 69, Planta 1, 28013 Madrid - Spain
Tel +34 911 548 230 Fax +34 911 548 240