Democracy That Delivers

Full Members

Full members are former Heads of State and Government from historically democratic countries or from countries that have undergone a process of democratic transition and consolidation since 1975 and whose incorporation is approved by an absolute majority of the General Assembly of the Club de Madrid. In addition, full membership may be granted to those former Heads of State and Government who participated in the Conference on Democratic Transition and Consolidation held in Madrid in October 2001 and who express their wish to join the organization, as well as those Heads of State and Government who participated in said Conference and are invited to join the Club de Madrid once their term in office has come to an end.


Leonel     Fernández
President of the Dominican Republic (1996-2000, 2004-2012)
José María  Figueres
President of Costa Rica (1994-1998)
Vigdís  Finnbogadóttir
President of Iceland (1980-1996), First Woman in the World to be democratically elected a constitutional Head of State
Vicente  Fox
President of Mexico (2000-2006)
Eduardo  Frei Ruiz-Tagle
President of Chile (1994-2000)
Yasuo Fukuda
Prime Minister of Japan (2007-2008)

Club de Madrid
Palacio del Marqués de Cañete. Calle Mayor, 69, Planta 1, 28013 Madrid - Spain
Tel +34 911 548 230 Fax +34 911 548 240