Democracy That Delivers

Full Members

Full members are former Heads of State and Government from historically democratic countries or from countries that have undergone a process of democratic transition and consolidation since 1975 and whose incorporation is approved by an absolute majority of the General Assembly of the Club de Madrid. In addition, full membership may be granted to those former Heads of State and Government who participated in the Conference on Democratic Transition and Consolidation held in Madrid in October 2001 and who express their wish to join the organization, as well as those Heads of State and Government who participated in said Conference and are invited to join the Club de Madrid once their term in office has come to an end.


Kim Campbell
Prime Minister of Canada (1993)
Joaquim  Chissano
President of Mozambique (1986-2004)
Fernando Henrique  Cardoso
President of Brazil (1995-2003) • Former President of the Club of Madrid
Aníbal Cavaco Silva
Prime Minister of Portugal (1985-1995), President of Portugal (2006-2016)
Jean  Chrétien
Prime Minister of Canada (1990-2003)
Bill Clinton
President of the United States (1992-2000)
Jimmy Carter
President of the United States of America (1977 - 1981) • Nobel Peace Laureate (2002)
Micheline Calmy-Rey
President of the Swiss Confederation (2007 and 2011)
Felipe Calderón
President of Mexico (2006-2012)
Laura Chinchilla Miranda
President of Costa Rica (2010-2014)

Club de Madrid
Palacio del Marqués de Cañete. Calle Mayor, 69, Planta 1, 28013 Madrid - Spain
Tel +34 911 548 230 Fax +34 911 548 240