Democracy That Delivers

Full Members

Full members are former Heads of State and Government from historically democratic countries or from countries that have undergone a process of democratic transition and consolidation since 1975 and whose incorporation is approved by an absolute majority of the General Assembly of the Club de Madrid. In addition, full membership may be granted to those former Heads of State and Government who participated in the Conference on Democratic Transition and Consolidation held in Madrid in October 2001 and who express their wish to join the organization, as well as those Heads of State and Government who participated in said Conference and are invited to join the Club de Madrid once their term in office has come to an end.


Sadig Al-Mahdi
Prime Minister of Sudan (1966-1967, 1986-1989)
Valdas  Adamkus
President of Lithuania (1998-2003; 2004-2009)
Esko Aho
Prime Minister of Finland (1991-1995)
Martti  Ahtisaari
President of Finland (1994 - 2000) • Nobel Peace Laureate 2008
Álvaro Arzú
President of Guatemala (1995–2000)
José María  Aznar
President of Spain (1996-2004)
Óscar Arias
President of Costa Rica (1986-1990; 2006-2010) and Nobel Peace Laureate (1987)

Club de Madrid
Palacio del Marqués de Cañete. Calle Mayor, 69, Planta 1, 28013 Madrid - Spain
Tel +34 911 548 230 Fax +34 911 548 240